First on the list- hydrophobic coatings

Posted: February 21, 2014 in Technology

So I am back after a lot of time and I was not sure on what I should be writing so I thought I would just go with what impresses me. I will be covering everything from new inventions, software, food, current affairs and pretty much anything.

So basically the first entry on this blog is going to be something that is freaking awesome and also one with great utility. I don’t know if many people have heard of this but I recently read up a lot on hydrophobicity . No not rabies. I am talking about the ability of water to actively repel water. I found out from this post here. Basically you can get any kind of surface and coat it to prevent water from ever accumulating over it. You can see the video below for an idea of how it works

So as you can see the water basically just rolls off. It does not look like it is completely water proof but it is pretty neat that there can be no staining on the surface ever and I read up that droplets of water can actually pickup dust particles from the surface keeping it cleans. So it’s pretty neat basically. I read on this post on a website here that you can get all sorts of hydrophobic coatings from different providers.

Most of them seem good, although I was pretty impressed with the Aculon felt tip hydrophobic coating applicator pen that simply allows you to make certain areas of a surface hydrophobic. I mean it will be great to see some great art ideas with them.

So what do you guys think of this first post? Was my first entry impressive enough? Let me know in the comments below. Also please let me know if you have some things on your list that I should check out.

Leave a Reply

